Monday 21 March 2016


Desh Bhagat University organised its 3rd Annual Athletic Meet with great fervour. The two- day meet began with University Chancellor, Dr. Zora Singh hoisting the university flag and flying the colourful balloons. He inspired the students by emphasizing that participation is more important in sports than victory or defeat.

Arjuna Awardee and India’s renowned boxer in Welterweight category Mr. Mandeep Jangra from Railways joined as chief guest over the valedictory function and gave away the prizes to the winners. While motivating the youths about games he said that our youths has good sports talent, they only need proper guidance and direction. He exhorted them to play games and make games regular part of their life and keep away from all kinds of drugs.
On day first students participated in different athletics events. Ms. Chanchal Randhawa (Former International Hockey Player) joined as chief guest on inaugural ceremony. Speaking on this occasion, she conveyed her best wishes to all the participants.
During the Athletic meet, individual and team competitions among students of various university faculties were held. These competitions included: Races of 400 Meters, 200 Meters, 100 Meters, Shot-put, Javelin, Basketball, Badminton, Table Tennis, Football Discus Throw and Long Jump.
Ankush Rahar (Faculty of Ayurveda) was declared best Athlete among boys and Miss Sandeep Kaur (Faculty of Hotel Management) was declared best Athlete among girls. Faculty of Engineering lifted the Overall Champions Trophy while Faculty of Hotel Management declared Runner-up.
Desh Bhagat University Pro Chancellor Ms. Tajinder Kaur and Vice Chancellor Dr. Virinder Singh appreciated the sports talent of the students. On this occasion, Director Dr. Kulbhushan, Director Amit Sachdeva and large number of students from different faculties were present.
Results of different events were as under:
In Boys Category, 800 Mtrs Race Ankush Rahar (Faculty of Ayurveda) stood first while Rajan Singh (Faculty of Management) stood second. In 400 Mtrs. Race: Ankush Rahar (Faculty of Ayurveda) stood first while Gurpreet Singh (Faculty of Management) stood second. In 200 Mtrs. Race: Akhand (Faculty of Hotel Management) stood first, Rajan Singh (Faculty of Management) stood second. In Discuss Throw: Bipanpreet Singh (Faculty of Engineering) stood first, Gurpreet Singh (Faculty of Management) scored second.
In Girls Category 800 Mtrs Race : Raja Noel (Faculty of Law) got first Amandeep Kaur (Faculty of Nursing) stood second. In long Jump: Parneet (Faculty of Ayurveda) stood First, Manmeet Kaur (Faculty of Nursing) got second position. 


Post a Comment