Friday 20 April 2018

In Best University in Punjab, Desh Bhagat University’s 5th Annual Athletic Meet

In best university in Punjab and North India, Desh Bhagat University organised its 5th Annual Athletic Meet with great fervour. The meet began with hoisting the university flag by the Chancellor Dr. Zora Singh. He inspired the students by emphasizing that participation is more important in sports than victory or defeat.

Arjuna Awardee Athlete Madhuri A. Singh joined as chief guest on inaugural ceremony. While motivating the youths about games she exhorted them to play games and make games regular part of their life and keep away from all kinds of drugs.

During the Athletic meet, individual and team competitions among students of various faculties were held. These competitions included: Races of 3000, 1500, 400, 200, 100 Meters,  Shot-put,  Javelin,  Discus Throw,  High Jump and Long Jump etc.

Ravinder Singh (Faculty of Education) was declared best Athlete among boys and Divya Saini (Faculty of Ayurveda) was declared best Athlete among girls.

Pro Chancellor Dr. Tajinder Kaur and Vice-chancellor Dr. Virinder Singh presided over the valedictory function and gave away the prizes to the winners. They appreciated the sports talent of the students. On this occasion, Registrar Dr. Kulbhushan, Dental College Principal Dr. Manish Kumar, Dr. Sanjiv Soni, staff members and large number of students from different faculties were present.

Results of different events were as under:

In Girls Category, 800 Mtrs. Race : Manpreet Kaur (Faculty of Education) got first position and Tarandeep Kaur (Dental College) stood second.
In 400 Mtrs. Race: Himani (Dental College) declared First and Harmandeep Kaur (Faculty of Education) got Second. In 100 Mtrs. Race : Paramjeet Kaur (B.P.T) got First and Rajwinder Kaur (Faculty of Education) got second place. In Javelin Throw: Parminder Kaur (Faculty of Education) stood First; Usha Rani (Faculty of Education) got second position.

In Boys Category, 3000 Mtrs Race: Amandeep Singh (Faculty of Education) stood first while Pardeep Kumar (Faculty of Engineering) stood second. 1500 Mtrs Race: Amandeep Singh (Faculty of Education) stood first while Jashanpreet Singh (Faculty of Education) stood second. 800 Mtrs Race: Amandeep Singh (Faculty of Education) stood first while Yograj Singh (Faculty of Education) stood second. In Discuss Throw: Lakhvinder Singh (Faculty of Engineering) got first, while Gurkaran (Faculty of Law) stood second.


Post a Comment