Thursday 21 January 2016

Inter Faculty (Staff) T-12 Cricket Tournament Organised at Desh Bhagat University

It was the day of fours and sixes at Desh Bhagat University and the occasion was the final match of Inter Faculty (Staff) T-12 Cricket Tournament. A total of 6 teams from different faculties participated in this tournament. The Final Match was between the teams from Faculty of Management & Computer Science and Faculty of Hotel Management & Tourism.

University Pro Chancellor Tajinder Kaur was the chief guest on this occasion, who tossed for the final match. Speaking on the occasion, she wished Good Luck to both teams. Vice Chancellor Dr. Virinder Singh said that the objective of this tournament was to motivate the staff members to participate in sports activities so that they may inspire others to do so.

Earlier, 6 teams of different faculties played their fixtures and showed their sports talent. After League and semi final matches, the Final of the tournament was particularly thrilling and breath-taking. In finals, Faculty of Hotel Management and Tourism team won the toss and choose fielding. First to bat, Captain Naresh Kumar and his team played well and scored 123 runs by losing 7 wickets in 12 over. All rounder Arvinder Singh and Harsimranjit scored 35 and 55 runs each respectively. In reply to the given challenge of 124 runs, Faculty of Hotel Management & Tourism Team opener Gagan and Neeraj Kumar played excellently and scored 45 runs in just four overs. But, the team lost their flow after both openers got out. Two more players got out early and the run average also declined after quick fall of wickets. But, their Captain Amit Sachdeva tried his best to control the innings by scoring 53 runs including two sixes and four fours, but all this was not enough to save the match. Finally, the whole team got out on 103 runs. Faculty of Management & Computer Science won the match by 4 wickets and lifted the Trophy. Harsimranjit Singh was declared Man of the Match. Director Dr. Kulbhushan Vashist and Principal Dr. Sumandeep Kaur presided over the Prize Distribution function and appreciated all players for excellent play. While congratulating the winning team and best players, Chancellor Dr. Zora Singh said that the important thing in a game is not to win or lose but to play in the true sportsman spirit. He appreciated the players for the excellent play. The tournament was held under the supervision of sports coordinator and Coach Nandan Singh.

The results of the tournament are as under:

Winner - Faculty of Management and Computer Science

Man of the Match – Harsimranjit Singh (Faculty of Management and Computer Science)


Post a Comment